top of page
Writer's pictureMorah Rivkah Isaacs

MOTHER (of 4) by Rivkah Isaacs

I wonder I worry

What is the army feeding you?

Is it enough & the right type

 

I wonder I worry

As you sleep in sleeping bags on the ground

with noise all around

 

I wonder I worry

Through the long training and walking (and such heavy boots)

do your feet get enough air or will you get a fungus

 

I wonder I worry

Will you be ready: will you be fast enough  

if something happens


I wonder I worry

Can you fire your gun and take another’s life  

when your own’s in danger

 

I daven with tears

That’s my job

to take all that feeling the wild emotions and

fight for you UP THERE while you are fighting down here.  

Except when I can’t

numb & blocked

so tired of wondering and worrying

 

Until I remind myself Who wonders and worries for

 the mother of 4 soldiers.


Comments


bottom of page